Stylishly Healthy

They often say when you are happy in a relationship you pack on the pounds….well lately I must be insanely happy, or at least that’s what the scale is telling me.  I have recently been trying to get more heathy, as a way to counter act the holiday weight gain and I have SHOCKINGLY learned that not all healthy food tastes like cardboard.  You can, in fact, have a very delicious meal without feeling guilty immediately after.  I have decided to share with you one of my favorite recipes that I have come across so far on my journey.

I am a compete sucker for Hispanic food.  I always tell everyone I was secretly a Mexican or Puerto Rican in a past life.  I love Hispanic dancing, I love Hispanic music and most importably, I love to eat Hispanic foods.  The only problem is that most of the foods that I love to eat, my hips love as well.  These Zucchini tacos not only are delicious, they satisfy any Taco craving you may have and are completely healthy.  I found the recipe on The Fit Housewife.  Does anyone have any more healthy recipes for me to try?

 

Zucchini Tacos

Ingredients

4 medium zucchini, cut in half lengthwise
1/2 cup salsa (I used medium)
1 pound lean ground turkey
1 tsp chili powder
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp oregano
1/2 tsp sea salt
4 oz no-salt-added tomato sauce
1/4 cup water
1/2 cup low-fat Tex-Mex shredded cheese
chopped cilantro or green onions for garnish (completely optional, I didn’t end up using this)

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 400F.  Place 1/4 cup of salsa in the bottom of a large baking dish.
  2. Using a small spoon hallow out the center of the zucchini flesh and save 1/2 cup to add to the taco filling.
  3. Brown turkey in a large skillet, breaking up as it cooks.  When no longer pink, add the chili powder, garlic powder, cumin, paprika, oregano, and salt.  Mix well.
  4. Add reserved zucchini, tomato sauce, salsa, and water.  Stir and simmer on low for 15 minutes.
  5. Using a spoon, fill the hallowed zucchini boats, dividing the taco meat evenly & pressing firmly.
  6. Top each boat with 1 Tbsp of shredded cheese.
  7. Cover with foil and bake for 35 minutes, until cheese is melted and zucchini is cooked through.
  8. Add toppings, if desired.

Signature

Leave a comment